As I sit atop this hill

set to pop this pill

I hear you gotta stop this, chill

I know you not this ill

I pause for a second

gazing at the pill in my palm

refelecting it’s a miracle

I can still feel this calm

without this sh!t in my system,

I’m hit with instant wisdom

I can hear the voiceless voice

once I just shut up and listen ….

The breeze caresses my face

and the stress is erased

the blessings replace

worldly possessions I chased

see I gotta sick mind

though it helps to spit rhymes

I think back to his time

when he dined and sipped wine

when he let you see the light

even if blind

and as the winds blow..

I can let my sins go

earn my penance

as I spit each sentence

see I spit raps

it’s one way I give back

get my thoughts back intact

as I drop this syntax

ever since I had a hunch

about the punch the pen packs

with no blows thrown

you can still feel the impact

it’s what gets the heads bobbin

it’s this ruthless truth-droppin

just spitting this verse

in rhythm with the surf

it’s so nice I think twice if Christ

has risen from the Earth

and if this ain’t heaven,

then damn I’d like to see it ..

the Golden Rule provides a guide

to righteous treatment

though at times I wonder

off the Eightfold Path

chop wood and carry water

is an age-old task

that keeps the mind focused

in times that seem hopeless

it’s a phrase coined by those

who sit in a half-lotus

I align my the way my life should be

with those more wise than me

if I follow those advising me

that same bliss will arise in me


About this entry